Paid links: we earn commissions from qualifying Amazon and eBay purchases. How we work →

Use · refrigerator

How long will a power station run a refrigerator?

A power station can run a compatible refrigerator, but its runtime comes from battery capacity, average fridge energy use, and inverter losses. Use the calculator with your EnergyGuide label, then confirm voltage and continuous and startup output before buying.

Quick planning example: a fridge labeled 550 kWh/year averages 62.8W. With assumed 85% conversion efficiency and 10W inverter idle draw, estimated runtime is about 11.9 hours from 1kWh, 23.8 hours from 2kWh, and 35.8 hours from 3kWh. These examples assume a full battery and no recharging; they are not measured fridge tests.

Calculate with your fridge’s energy label or compare backup options.

Size backup power for your fridge

Find annual kWh on your fridge’s EnergyGuide label. For a measured 24-hour total, multiply kWh by 365. Defaults are planning assumptions, not a tested appliance.

Presets load rated capacity and reviewer-reported idle only. Efficiency stays at your chosen assumption. See sources and test limitations.

YOUR ESTIMATE

Example: 550 kWh/year, 2,048Wh, 85% efficiency and 10W idle gives about 24.4 hours. About 2,013Wh is needed for 24 hours with these assumptions.

Hours = battery Wh ÷ (average fridge W ÷ efficiency + idle W). This assumes a full battery, no solar recharge and steady average use. Efficiency excludes the separately entered idle draw. Temperature, defrost cycles, door openings and battery age change runtime. Allow extra capacity; verify voltage, running output and compressor startup separately.

Concept illustration of a refrigerator and backup battery
AI illustration · conceptual equipment, not a product or installation photo.

Size a power station for your refrigerator

A refrigerator needs a compatible voltage and enough continuous and startup output for its compressor. Check the refrigerator's nameplate and manual against the station before buying. Startup is a brief peak; runtime is governed by the average watts consumed while the compressor cycles, plus inverter losses and idle draw.

The EnergyGuide labelreports estimated yearly electricity use. Multiply its kWh/year by 1,000, then divide by 8,760 to get an average wattage for planning: 550 kWh/year becomes 62.8W. It does not describe every compressor cycle or startup peak.

Our formula is capacity ÷ (average fridge watts ÷ 0.85 + idle watts). The examples use 85% assumed AC conversion efficiency and a clearly labeled 10W idle assumption; table rows substitute reviewer-reported idle draw where available. Conversion efficiency is not a model-specific measurement.

What size battery would cover 24 hours?

For the same 550 kWh/year example, 85% efficiency and 10W idle draw, the calculation requires about 2,013Wh before extra reserve. A 2,048Wh station estimates 24.4 hours, leaving little margin for hotter conditions, defrost cycles or battery aging.

Idle consumption can change the choice. The F3000LFP runtime example uses its cited 37W idle result instead of 10W. Compare each station with its own available evidence, then check startup capability separately.

Published tests: what standby actually costs

Six test reports across five models, two test publishers, plus manufacturer claims where found. Reviewed 2026-10-04. These are attributed reports, not our tests or a standardized ranking. Exact test dates are not supplied in these articles. Missing usable AC watt-hours remain unknown.

Download the sourced dataset (JSON)

Idle energy per day is calculated as reported watts × 24 hours with no load and the same mode continuously enabled.
ModelReported idleIdle Wh/dayReported discharge testConditions and source
Pecron F5000LFP52W1,248Wh84%

Usable AC Wh not reported

The Solar Lab test report
Test conditions

AC inverter enabled, no connected load; temperature and firmware not stated.

Discharge load and cutoff not stated in article; not conversion-only efficiency.

Pecron F3000LFP37W888Wh83%

Usable AC Wh not reported

The Solar Lab test report
Test conditions

Calculated from a full discharge with only the inverter enabled; firmware and temperature not stated.

Sustained 3,600W output, full to empty; includes whole-discharge losses.

Anker SOLIX C2000 Gen 218W

Manufacturer: 9W, different/unspecified conditions

432Wh89%

Usable AC Wh not reported

The Solar Lab test report
Test conditions

AC outlets enabled on standby. Reviewer distinguishes this from screen/USB-only operation; firmware not stated.

Discharge load and cutoff not stated in article; not conversion-only efficiency.

Manufacturer claim: Manufacturer advertises 9W; operating conditions are not specified in this article. Keep separate from the AC standby test.

Bluetti Elite 200 V29.5W228Wh94%

Usable AC Wh not reported

The Solar Lab test report
Test conditions

Reviewer reports idle draw; output mode, temperature and firmware are not detailed in article.

Discharge load and cutoff not stated in article; not conversion-only efficiency.

Bluetti FridgePower16.8W

Manufacturer: 4W, different/unspecified conditions

403.2Wh81%

Usable AC Wh not reported

The Solar Lab test report
Test conditions

Review sample; sleep/efficiency modes exist but exact test settings, temperature and firmware are not stated.

Discharge load and cutoff not stated in article; not conversion-only efficiency.

Manufacturer claim: Manufacturer advertises standby consumption as low as 4W; not established as the same operating mode as the review sample.

Bluetti Elite 200 V215W360Wh96%

1,990Wh AC reported

HOBOTECH test report
Test conditions

AC parasitic drain: 88Wh over six hours, summarized by reviewer as about 15W. Firmware and temperature not stated.

AC capacity test reported 1,990Wh; load and cutoff not specified in article. DC result is separate and is not used here.

Published 2024-11-13; test date unspecified.

We preserve conflicting figures rather than averaging them. The runtime table uses the higher collected idle report when more than one exists for a model; the calculator lets you try either report. This is a planning choice, not proof that one test is more accurate. Some articles use “W per hour” for idle draw; we normalize the intended continuous power to watts. Review samples, firmware and operating modes can differ from your unit.

The calculator can load reported idle draw and rated capacity. It keeps conversion efficiency as an editable assumption: published full-discharge efficiency can already include idle loss, and adding idle again would double-count it. These reports do not establish measured refrigerator runtime.

Fridge backup short list by capacity and standby draw

Compare form factor, capacity and output alongside the sourced idle reports above. None of these estimates is our refrigerator runtime test.

Dedicated fridge backup

Bluetti FridgePower

Capacity
2,016Wh
AC output
1,800W
Solar input
1,000W

Why it fits: 2,016Wh and 1,800W AC in a dedicated refrigerator-backup format.

Tradeoff: The manufacturer advertises 4W standby, but The Solar Lab reports 16.8W on its review sample. See the sourced conditions above; modes differ.

Current Amazon price: $949

Capacity and output for the price

Pecron E2400LFP

Capacity
2,048Wh
AC output
2,400W
Weight
45 lb
Solar input
700W

Why it fits: 2,048Wh and 2,400W AC provide a straightforward capacity/output match for a 120V fridge plan.

Tradeoff: 45 lb and no published idle figure mean carry weight and standby draw still need checking.

Current Amazon price is unavailable in the latest price check.

More output margin

Anker SOLIX C2000 Gen 2

Capacity
2,048Wh
AC output
2,400W
Weight
41.7 lb
Solar input
800W

Why it fits: 2,048Wh and 2,400W AC give more output margin while keeping the pack at 41.7 lb.

Tradeoff: The Solar Lab reports 18W with AC enabled, versus the advertised 9W figure. Check the source conditions above and your fridge startup demand.

Current Amazon price: $1,499

See the full comparison table for every tracked model and the calculation notes.

On a phone, swipe horizontally through the detailed comparison table.

Estimated runtime with 85% assumed conversion efficiency; idle inputs are labeled per row. Not a first-hand fridge test. Units shown have at least 800W published AC output.
ModelCapacity (Wh)ACIdle usedHours @ 50WHours @ 100WHours @ 150WListings
EcoFlow Delta Pro Ultra6,144Wh7,200W10W · assumption89 h48 h33 h
Pecron F5000LFP We own this5,120Wh7,200W52W · reported test46 h30 h22 h
EcoFlow Delta Pro 34,096Wh4,000W10W · assumption60 h32 h22 h
Pecron E3800LFP3,840Wh4,200W10W · assumption56 h30 h21 h
ABOK Ark36003,840Wh3,600W10W · assumption56 h30 h21 h
Bluetti Elite 4003,840Wh2,600W10W · assumption56 h30 h21 h
EcoFlow Delta Pro3,600Wh3,600W10W · assumption52 h28 h19 h
Jackery HomePower 3600 Plus3,584Wh3,600W10W · assumption52 h28 h19 h
Pecron F3000LFP3,072Wh3,600W37W · reported test32 h20 h14 h
Pecron E3600LFP3,072Wh3,600W10W · assumption45 h24 h16 h
EcoFlow Delta 3 Ultra3,072Wh3,600W10W · assumption45 h24 h16 h
EcoFlow Delta 3 Ultra Plus3,072Wh3,600W10W · assumption45 h24 h16 h
Bluetti Elite 3003,014.4Wh2,400W10W · assumption44 h24 h16 h
Bluetti Apex 3002,764.8Wh3,840W10W · assumption40 h22 h15 h
Bluetti Elite 200 V22,073.6Wh2,600W15W · reported test28 h16 h11 h
Pecron E2400LFP2,048Wh2,400W10W · assumption30 h16 h11 h
Anker SOLIX C2000 Gen 22,048Wh2,400W18W · reported test27 h15 h11 h
EcoFlow Delta 3 Max2,048Wh2,400W10W · assumption30 h16 h11 h
EcoFlow Delta 3 Max Plus2,048Wh3,000W10W · assumption30 h16 h11 h
Bluetti AC200L2,048Wh2,400W10W · assumption30 h16 h11 h
Jackery Explorer 2000 Plus2,043Wh3,000W10W · assumption30 h16 h11 h
Jackery Explorer 2000 v22,042Wh2,200W10W · assumption30 h16 h11 h
Bluetti FridgePower2,016Wh1,800W16.8W · reported test27 h15 h10 h
Bluetti AC1801,152Wh1,800W10W · assumption17 h9.0 h6.2 h
Jackery Explorer 1000 v21,070Wh1,500W10W · assumption16 h8.4 h5.7 h
Anker SOLIX C10001,056Wh1,800W10W · assumption15 h8.3 h5.7 h
EcoFlow Delta 3 Classic1,024Wh1,800W10W · assumption15 h8.0 h5.5 h
Anker SOLIX C1000 Gen 21,024Wh2,000W10W · assumption15 h8.0 h5.5 h
EcoFlow Delta 21,024Wh1,800W10W · assumption15 h8.0 h5.5 h
EcoFlow Delta 31,024Wh1,800W10W · assumption15 h8.0 h5.5 h
EcoFlow Delta 3 Plus1,024Wh1,800W10W · assumption15 h8.0 h5.5 h
Bluetti Elite 100 V21,024Wh1,800W10W · assumption15 h8.0 h5.5 h
Pecron F1000LFP960Wh1,500W10W · assumption14 h7.5 h5.1 h
Bluetti AC70768Wh1,000W10W · assumption11 h6.0 h4.1 h

The Pecron F5000LFP we own is in the table from manufacturer capacity with assumed 85% conversion efficiency and The Solar Lab’s reported 52W idle draw. This is still a model, not a fridge test. We have not published a first-hand fridge-runtime test for it. The array we actually wired is on the 12-panel build and the F5000LFP model page.

Outage sizing beyond a single fridge is on home backup.

Refrigerator power station questions

Can a portable power station run a refrigerator?

A refrigerator is usually a 120V load, but compressor startup can exceed its running draw. Check the refrigerator nameplate and manual against the station's continuous and surge output. Runtime depends on average load, conversion efficiency, and idle consumption.

How long will a power station run a fridge?

Hours = battery Wh ÷ (average fridge W ÷ 0.85 + idle W). A 550 kWh/year EnergyGuide label averages 62.8W; with assumed 85% conversion efficiency and 10W idle draw, the planning examples on this page are about 11.9 hours for 1kWh, 23.8 hours for 2kWh, and 35.8 hours for 3kWh. These are estimates, not measured refrigerator tests.